He Has Turned My Mourning…

You know the mess we’re in.  Our culture has strayed from the path God intended, the path God expects.  Things are bad and they are probably going to get worse.

So how did we get here?  One viewpoint says it’s our fault.  It is the fault of Christians.  It’s movies and TV and alcohol and drugs and divorce and having the wrong kind of sex with the wrong people at the wrong time.  We have become just like the world.  It’s our fault. That’s one viewpoint.

But I beg to differ.

I don’t think it’s our lack of holiness that has changed our culture.  It is our lack of joy.  Angry Christians harping on the sins of the world repels the ones we are trying to reach.  Joy, the joy of the Lord, attracts them.  Battling all those sins makes us want them all the more.  The joy of the Lord makes them irrelevant and a hindrance to the fullness of His joy.

Two thousand years ago Jesus brought us joy, the joy of salvation, the joy of righteousness, the joy of fellowship with Him.  And now every day the Holy Spirit comes to give us that same joy.

I may be sick.  The Holy Spirit may or may not come with healing.  But He always comes with joy.

I may be in trouble.  The Holy Spirit may of may not come with wisdom to rescue me from my trouble.  But He always comes with joy.

I may be broke with the sheriff at the front door and the wolf at the back door and bankruptcy beckoning.  The Holy Spirit may or may not come with a check for a million dollars.  But He always comes with joy.

Jesus is not a general come to watch His troops march, each one in perfect lockstep with his fellow Christians.  Jesus comes to watch us dance.

In heaven I will not be marching in revue.  I will be dancing.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

