I’m Still Here

I messed up the other day.  Not that I don’t mess up often, probably at least once a day, but this was a bad one, out in the open, in front of people.  I felt bad about it.

I was still feeling pretty miserable Saturday when I went walking at the rec center.  I chose a playlist as always but I didn’t choose gospel or worship.  I chose classic rock.  I don’t know why.  The second song that came up was Bridge Over Troubled Waters.  Not gospel or worship but God spoke to me through it anyway, through Bridge Over Troubled Waters.  He said, “I’m still here.”

Bridge, the song and the album, came out in January 1970 and a war weary nation embraced it.  I bought it and kept it going constantly on the turntable (vinyl, you know.). Even now I listen to my playlist and expect the next song on the album to come up instead of what’s on my list.  Bridge Over Troubled Waters, Let It Be (May 1970), You’ve Got a Friend (1971).  A nation sick of the turmoil of the sixties, sick of assassinations and riots and protest and failed presidents grasped for them desperately.

Here is Bridge Over Troubled Waters, not the best performance but it has that piano accompaniment that I love.  It still gives me goosebumps.

Something else came out of that weariness.  The Jesus movement was born.  Young people were being saved out of alcohol and drugs.  Churches were opening coffee houses to minister to those who would not darken the door of a Church.  A new awakening was born that became the beginnings of the Charismatic Movement.  People wanted a bridge over their troubled waters.  They wanted to hear they could ‘let it be’.  They wanted to know that they had a Friend.

I wonder if we are on the edge of something like that again.  I wonder if there are people out there who are weary of the fear and anger and strife and finger pointing and name calling, people out there who are looking for a foundation, a hope, a friend, a bridge over their troubled waters.  The question is what answers will we give them.  Will it be political solutions?  More anger?  More finger pointing?  More name calling?  Or will we have Jesus to point them to?  Will we have enough Jesus in us to light their way?

Will I have enough Jesus in me to light the way?

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Still Here

  1. Kathy B says:

    Amen, Angus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

