I Don’t Want to Get Over It

I watched a sermon about generosity the other day.  The preacher said he was thankful that he had been able to give away some big ticket items over the years including a house.  Somebody asked his wife how she felt when she found out he had given away her house.  She said she was glad that they could do it and happy that her husband had such a generous heart.  She said, “You need to know this about my husband.  He’s never gotten over getting saved.”

‘He’s never gotten over getting saved.’  That line has been bouncing around in my head the last week or two.  I wonder…

We can get righteously indignant over homosexuality and gay marriage.  We make our voices heard on refugees and illegal aliens and border walls.  We can go to those God Is Not Dead movies.  We can talk about the scientific and historical evidence of Christ.  We can preach the Roman road to salvation.  I don’t know that any of that will make that much difference.

I don’t think the people who march and preach and make their voices heard will change the world.  I think the people who will  change the world are the ones who can’t stop smiling, who have never gotten over getting saved.

How do I know when I’ve gotten over getting saved?  If the way I look and the way I talk and the way I act is more important to me than my salvation then I have gotten over it.  What I do (and what others do) should never have more value that what God has done for me.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

