Turning the Corner

My beloved Razorbacks football team did not have a good year.  Up and down.  Win one, maybe win big, then lose one, maybe by a wide margin.  Most are talking about the defense and they were bad but I think the offensive line bears some of the burden.  We couldn’t run the ball and that led to three and outs and that led to our bad defense getting back on the field.

They would win big, like against Florida, and people would talk about them having turned the corner.  Then they would lay an egg the next time out.  Turning the corner talk is detrimental.  Turning the corner may mean meeting an eighteen wheeler head on.  (Another spin on ‘the light at the end of the tunnel may be an oncoming train’.)

The basketball team seems to be stuck in the same turning the corner syndrome.  They look good for a few games.  Then they get their heads handed to them.  They haven’t turned the corner.

There is no turning the corner.  There is only preparation, focus, concentration, intensity, a certain dogged determination.  Do this week what you did last week.

In the days of my callow youth I spent my Saturdays playing golf .  I wasn’t very good.  One Saturday everything fell right and I shot an eighty-five.  I still have the scorecard, just to show you how pathetic I was.  I was proud of an eighty-five.  I still am.

So anyway it was clear that I had a lock on the game of golf.  I had turned the corner.  All I had to do was get on that tee and swing away.  We played another round.  I didn’t save that scorecard.  I don’t remember what I shot.  I tried to forget it.  I may have not broken a hundred.  I had not turned the corner.

There is no turning the corner.  There is only preparation, concentration, focus, intensity, a certain steely-eyed dogged determination.

The Christian life is like that.  Sure I’m a new creature in Christ.  I am the righteousness of God in Christ.  I am a member of the royal priesthood and a holy nation.  But there’s that thing about walking in the Spirit vs. walking in the flesh.  If I ever get the idea that I’ve got it knocked, that I can put it on cruise control, that I can ‘swing away’, then I’m probably heading for trouble.  Next week I’ve got to do what I did this week.  I’ve got to pray.  I’ve got to read the Word.  I’ve got to stay in communion with Him.  I’ve got to abide in the vine.

There is no turning the corner.  There is only preparation, concentration, focus, intensity, a certain steely-eyed dogged determination.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turning the Corner

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    Right there with you, Honey!

    The Good Wife

Leave a Reply

