New Every Morning

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.  Lamentations 3:22-23

We used to sing a chorus based on this scripture, a slow, peaceful, worshipful chorus.  It really brought home the truth and promises contained in these verses.

God’s love never ceases.  His mercies never end.  Great is His faithfulness.

But what about that third line?  New every morning.  There is a promise for you.  We go to bed at night secure in God’s love and when we rise in the morning His love is there to greet us.  Remember when you were first saved and everything seemed new and fresh and clean?  We can still know that feeling, like the world is new and fresh and washed clean like a spring morning after rain.

But there’s another way to look at this.  There is a part we have to play to appropriate His love and mercies.  Now I’m not saying His mercies expire overnight like a magazine subscription or Amazon Prime.  His love and mercy and faithfulness are there every morning just like the scripture says.  No, what I’m saying is that our perception of His promises can fade unless we actively remind ourselves of them, unless we actively appropriate them.  And the earlier, the sooner the better as we start the day.

I work three days a week and on those days I rise early and spend some time in prayer and Bible reading.  The other four days I sleep later and when I rise the day just seems to get rolling on it’s own and I don’t get around to praying.  I look back on those days and I realize that I tend to wander spiritually.  Somehow God’s presence (and His promises) seem to be less real to me.  And Satan steps in and makes me aware of all the things that can go wrong.  And the things that can go wrong become, in my mind, the things that will go wrong.

Has God changed?  No.  Has He moved away?  No.  Has He gone back on His promises?  No, but my perception of His presence and His promises has faded.

It would be better that I start each day in His presence, reminding myself of His love and mercy and faithfulness.  Better that I start each day making His love and mercy and faithfulness new all over again.

It’s not His promises that have faded.  It’s my perception of  His promises that has leaked away.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Quotations, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Every Morning

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    I believe this writing spoke to me more than any you have written in the past. I am thankful that God has been moving in our lives and giving us a greater desire to be closer to him. Reading God’s word and praying first thing in the morning has made a radical change in what I dwell on during the rest of the day. There are things that will go wrong in our lives, of that I am sure. However, there is a God that will sweep us up as He always has and keep us, let come what may. As long as we are together, I can go through anything.
    The Good Wife

Leave a Reply

