What Christmas is All About

I’ve had a tough time getting into the Christmas spirit this year.  I’ve been listening to the songs since Thanksgiving.  We’ve watched our favorite Christmas movies.  But I haven’t been caught up in the emotion of it this year.  Maybe it’s the politics.  Maybe it’s the fear and anger and hate.  I don’t know.

We just finished our last Christmas movie, White Christmas.  The end of it does create a kind of vibe.  The tree, the sparkly decorations, the red outfits, the snow.  It is touching.

I switched back to TV from PS3/DVD device and landed smack in the middle of A Charley Brown Christmas.   Not just anywhere in the middle.  I landed just where Charley Brown is saying ‘Isn’t there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?’

It’s pretty simple when it comes down to it, what Christmas is all about.  It’s pretty simple really.  The answer to fear and doubt and pain and suffering and anger and hate.  There is one answer and only one answer to all our troubles.  His name is Jesus and He came to save us from fear and anger and hate.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Christmas is All About

  1. Sharon Tucker Lewis says:

    Merry Christmas, Honey.
    The Good Wife

Leave a Reply

