I’m Part of the Team

My beloved Razorbacks were blown out by Alabama.  Again.  Amazingly, as bad as we looked we could have been in it to the end if not for the turnovers.  Austin Allen may be the best quaterback in the league.  We just need to protect him a little better.

We aren’t far from what was perdicted at the beginning of the season.  Eight wins.  Loses to TCU, A&M, Alabama, and Ole Miss.  An even chance or better the rest of the way.  We’re one win ahead of that.

The offensive line is the problem.  Sometimes they look like ushers rather than blockers.  If we can’t fix that we are in trouble.

I imagine there will be lots of people who will be calling for the head of Bret Bielema.  People who were big fans a few weeks ago will now claim they never liked him.  I hate it when we get like that.  I guess my problem is that I think I’m part of the team.

They’re just kids.  They mess up, do stupid things.  They’re just trying to grow up.  When they mess up I don’t throw them under the bus.  I hurt for them.  They’re my teammates.

Come to think of it, that may be a pretty good way to live.  Family, work, church.  Anyone can mess up, do or say dumb things.  But that’s alright.  We’ll cut ’em some slack.

They’re my teammates.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Part of the Team

  1. I’ll take college teams over the NFL anytime – mainly because they’re just kids. Gotta love the Razorbacks for all their – and their fans’ spirit. Real football spirit

Leave a Reply

