The Brier Patch

You can kind of see where it’s heading.  Hillary wins, maybe by a landslide.  Some Republicans lose their seats in Congress.  In the coming years two or three liberal judges get appointed to the Supreme Court.  The liberal media and mindless entertainment continue to erode the consciousness of society in general.  The attack on the church continues to weaken our power, our freedoms, and our influence.

How bad can it get?  Pretty bad.  Very bad.  Given the changes that have come tumbling on each other in the last few years, it could be just about as bad as you can imagine.

So what do we do?

I stumbled the other day onto the story of Brer Rabbit and the Brier Patch.  You remember?  Uncle Remus?  Brer Fox caught Brer Rabbit and he was thinking about having him for dinner.   Brer Rabbit said, “Do anything you want but, oh please, please, please, just don’t throw me in the brier patch.”  Brer Fox, being the ornery cuss that he was, uped and threw him in the brier patch.  The next thing he heard was Brer Rabbit laughing up a storm.  “Don’t you know, Brer Fox?  The brier patch is my home.  I was born and raised here.”

So what’s going to happen to the church?  Maybe she is going into the brier patch.  But that’s alright but we have yet to see the power of God working through the persecuted church, the brier patch church.  It’s where we work best.  After all it’s where the church were born and raised.  The brier patch is our home.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Brier Patch

  1. I like this one. Gives a hopeful perspective. I may have to read this one to my Bible Study.

Leave a Reply

