‘Long As I Can See the Light

Credence Clearwater Revival was a great rock band.  Listen to them and you want to go to a pawn shop and buy an electric guitar and amplifier and start singing bayou country rock.  Of course it takes more than a guitar. You need an accomplished drummer and a gravelly voice too.

There are two CCR songs I stick in playlists: Down on the Corner and Green River.   Many of the CCR songs have a dark aura about them and these two are happy, upbeat.  Given the present circumstances maybe we should be looking for a dark CCR song for our theme song.  Like Stuck in Lodi Again.  Or Who’ll Stop the Rain.  No, wait.  I’ve got it.  Bad Moon Rising.

 

CCR, Linda Ronstadt, Simon and Garfunkel.  They have become background noise, the soundtrack of our lives.  We hear them without listening.

There is one other CCR song that has popped into my head.  I can’t get rid of it.  Maybe I heard it in Kroger or WalMart or the mall.  If I had to name the top ten CCR songs it wouldn’t have made the list.  I can’t say that I even knew it was their song.  I don’t know where it came from but I think it’s a better theme song that Bad Moon Rising.

It doesn’t matter who gets elected president or what laws are passed or who sits on the supreme court…

‘Long as I can see the light.

There are a lot of people who need to see the light, more today than they have ever been.  They don’t need political arguments.  They need to see the light. For that to happen I need to see the light.  I need to show the light.  I need to be the light.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Quotations, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Long As I Can See the Light

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    Please keep reminding me to look toward the light, Honey.
    The Good Wife

Leave a Reply

