Jesus Unchained

When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus. Acts 4:13.

I’m reading this book, It’s Not What You Think by Jefferson Bethke.  Good book.  He makes this statement:

‘The way we usually present Jesus is something to the effect of, “Accept Jesus into your heart and you can go to heaven when you die.”‘  I wonder how that’s working for us.

Back in the seventies at the beginning of the charismatic movement when young people were being saved off the streets and out of the drug culture there was this young man in our Church.  He was short and kind of stocky, had shoulder length curly black hair.  The Holy Spirit would get on him and he would start worshipping and it would get people’s attention.  He was a catalyst.  People would start coming to the altar.  People would get saved, would get healed, would get baptised in the Holy Spirit.  This young man was not trying to get attention or disrupt the service.  Something would just get stirred up in him and it had to come out.

I saw him a few year later and I asked how it was going with him.  He said he was just trying to learn to be quiet.  I didn’t think about it at the time but now I wonder why I didn’t ask him what put it in his head that he needed to be quiet.

Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t want to go back to the days of wildfire and disorder and people just wanting attention.  But I do wonder.

I don’t know how often that ‘Accept Jesus and go to heaven’ line works anymore.  We get ‘there are many ways to heaven’ or ‘I don’t believe in heaven or hell’ or ‘I don’t think there is a God’.  What does work, what does get people’s attention is Jesus.  Just being loud won’t work.  But if I spend enough time with Jesus people will notice.  If I have enough Jesus in me He will come out.  And people will pay attention.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

