A Righteous Nation?

Righteous laws do not make people righteous.

There is no such thing as a righteous nation, a righteous goverment, a righteous society or culture.

Jesus did not come to redeem nations, governments, societies or cultures.  He came to redeem people, one at a time.  If Christianity is about a personal relationship with Jesus (and it is) then that’s the main thing, the only thing that matters.  A one on one, a one at a time redemption.

Societies and cultures, governments and laws are righteous because lots of people came to that one on one relationship.  And if that’s what it’s all about, if that is the most important thing then we should be about that business.  Not goverments and laws and elections.  We should be about the busimess of introducing people to Jesus, one on one one.

One at a time.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Righteous Nation?

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    Amen!

  2. So…question…Doesn’t God want to redeem his people, his nation of Israel? Didn’t he say in 2 Chronicles 7:14—“if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

    This is not about an individual; this is about a community. So, my question is—Are we supposed to focus on each of us as individuals or are we supposed to focus on a people, a group, a community who are devoted to God. I truly don’t know the answer to this, and I’m not trying to make a statement. I’m really trying to start a dialogue, because I’m not sure that I have a clue.

    And, He did choose the Hebrew people to be His people, a nation to be His nation, to spread His message to all the world. Okay, help me out here. Is this about an individual or about a group?

    • Angus Lewis says:

      I had to go back and read what I had posted to see what I said. I’m afraid I wrote in the white heat of frustration and I might not have made clear what I meant. I still stand on what I meant if not what I said.
      I believe it is time for the people of God to humble themselves and pray, far past time. But I don’t know that my primary focus in prayer should be for my country or my government. I think my focus should be that God would help me to get my actions and thoughts and my heart in line with His heart. I fear that too often we pray for God to do something about Those People when what really needs fixing is us (I should say ‘me’).
      I understand what you are saying about the nation of Israel but I think in this day, this side of the cross, God is about saving individuals instead of nations. If we try to change a nation without seeing God change individuals we are trying to do it backwards and we are doomed to failure,
      If the time is short we must be about the one at a time building the kingdom of God.
      And I don’t think this is any more clear than the original post.

  3. I see your point, and thanks for clarifying. I always enjoy your posts.

  4. You can lead a horse to water, but can’t make it drink. Forcing people never works.
    It comes from within. Individual – not collective

Leave a Reply

