Reality vs. Fantasy

I saw a recent short conversation on Facebook that was about The West Wing, one of my favorite TV shows from years gone by.  Somewhere in the conversation LOST came up.  Which is the better show?  At first thought you would say apples and oranges.  You can’t compare the two.  But on second thought…

The West Wing was fiction to be sure but it had the sense of reality.  Fiction but everything was believable.  On the other hand you have LOST.  Fantasy?  Myth?  Legend?  If you close one eye and squint with the other you might get the sense of allegory.

Now here is where I take the death defying leap.  The West Wing is Star Trek.  LOST is Star Wars.  Sure.  Makes perfect sense to me.

Star Trek is science fiction but those Trekies believe that someday it will all be true.  There are books about the science of Star Trek.  Trekies believe that once theory becomes fact and technology catches up with fact we will have star ships and warp drives and transporter rooms.

I don’t think there are books about the science of Star Wars.  Light speed, death stars, blasters, light sabers.  We don’t care how they work.  At one point the Millennium Falcon won’t go to light speed so Rey grabs some device and rips it out.  Apparently she had to take out the framis to bypass the whatsit to keep the hoodoo from overheating.  The what and the what and the what?  We don’t care what they are.  It’s not about the technology.  It’s about the characters and the scene informs the character (as they say).  Star Wars is about the characters, not physics or technology.

There is one point where Star Trek is fantasy and Star Wars is truth.  Star Trek wants us to believe that in their world they have learned to live in perfect harmony on this planet.  No more war.  No more division.  And more than that there is this United Federation of Planets that functions in complete unity and harmony.  On the other hand Star Wars recognizes that there is a dark side and there always will be a dark side and it will always rise if we give it a chance.

There is an old saying (sometimes attributed to Thomas Jefferson) that goes something like this:  ‘Eternal vigilance is the price of freedom’.  That quote is often used to justify a world class military and the taxation that supports it.  Some may think it supports a personal stockpile of weapons and ammo.  Maybe.  Maybe not.  I won’t address either of those here because I think there’s another aspect to this that is far more important.

I think there is far more danger in ideas that can lead us astray, lead us down the wrong path.  Ideas become beliefs and belief becomes action. I struggle with how to say this because it’s not so much ideas I’m talking about at it is attitudes.   There are plenty of people who will, for their own selfish purposes, lead us into thinking fear and anger and wrath and hate.  Mark them.  Be aware of their strategies.  Be vigilant.  Don’t allow yourself to be led down that path.

PS.  This post has laid in drafts for a week or more because I don’t think I got to what I wanted to say in that last paragraph.  I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the fruit of the spirit.  There are ideas and thoughts and attitudes (and people) that will subtly draw us away from living out the fruit of the spirit and lead us into displaying the works of the flesh.  I think I may have more to say about that.

 

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Movies, Quotations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality vs. Fantasy

  1. I hope you do have more to say about that. I will wait.

  2. Angus Lewis says:

    I do have more to say, probably a lot more than I should. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

