Star Wars – Where From Here

So Star Wars – The Force Awakens is finally here.  I’ve seen it twice and I plan to go again before it’s gone from theaters.  I loved it.  Lots of old friends and a bunch of new ones.  Lots of open doors.  What’s next?  Here are a couple of working titles for the next movie:  The Force Takes a Nap and The Force Nods Off, Again.

Just kidding.  J. J. Abrams has given us plenty to think about.  Of course J. J. sometimes likes to tease without following through.  Remember LOST.  I don’t think that will happen this time.

I know one thing I would like to see happen.  Be warned. I might stumble into a spoiler or two.

Finn is a storm trooper on his first mission.  Another trooper touches him and leaves bloody marks on his helmet.  Suddenly Finn looks around as if he has wakened from sleep.  The order is to wipe out the village but he can’t.  He won’t.  Later he sees Rey under attack and he runs to help.  He has suddenly found a conscience. What happened to him?

I know what I want.  I want Finn to be an ordinary storm trooper like thousands of others, no power of the Force in his bloodline, till the Holy Spirit (excuse me, the Force) taps him on the shoulder and says, “Hey, you”.  Like Moses at the burning bush.  Or Gideon on the threshing floor.  Or Saul on the road to Damascus.

Now that would be a story.

 

 

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Movies, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Star Wars – Where From Here

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    My guess is that JJ is following your blog and your thoughts will be carefully considered for the next movie plot.
    The Good Wife

Leave a Reply

