Moonlight in Vermont

There’s one song I’ve saved till after Christmas because it’s not really a Christmas song.  We relate it to Christmas and winter but it’s not exactly even a winter song.  Moonlight in Vermont.

I have a duet of it in my iTunes, Linda Ronstadt and Frank Sinatra.  I hate that I can’t find a YouTube of it.  Linda Ronstadt is the finest female voice in the history of pop music (Come on.  You know I’m right.) and she is at her best in this recording.  Frank is far past his prime but he still knows how to sell a song.  Anyway here is Frank at his best.

I have another recording of Moonlight that is my favorite.

I think Brook Benton is known most for Rainy Night in Georgia.

Why do some people have so so careers and others achieve idol status?  It’s not just the voice.  It’s not just the ability to deliver a song.  Maybe superstars get that way on purpose by doing what it takes to get there.  Maybe it’s the right song at the right time.  Maybe the right promoters.  I don’t know.  But I know there are voices that didn’t make idol status that should not be forgotten.  Brook Benton should not be forgotten.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

