A Prayer for the New Year

Father God, You know how dangerous our world has become.  ISIS, terrorism, mass shootings.  You know that we live in a society that is running headlong away from you, a society that is falling deeper and deeper into sin.

You know what I desire.  My desire is that Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.  The trouble is that I don’t know Your plans.  The path that I would choose, that I think would lead to victory, may only draw us further from You.  The path that looks like defeat may be the direction You have in mind that would lead to Your ultimate victory.

I don’t know how to pray for specifics.  I only know to pray for Your peace.  The year ahead appears as a year of turmoil and anxiety.  I ask now that in the midst of fear, doubt, and uncertainty You give me peace.  I ask that when I stray from Your peace You would remind me instantly and that You would lead me back to Your peace, the peace that passes understanding.

And I ask that You allow others to see Your peace in me, that Your peace reflected in my life would lead others to seek You.

I thank You that I can live in Your peace in the midst of a world gone mad.

In Jesus’ Name

Amen

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Prayer for the New Year

Leave a Reply

