Spoiled Fruit

I watched the GOP debate last week and I’m sorry I did.  Donald Trump…  That’s all I’m going to say.  Just Donald Trump and no, I’m going to link to his web site.

The debate was bad enough but the polls afterward were downright depressing.  I thought Mr. Trump, ever the opportunist, was using that forum to incite fear and anger but I don’t think that’s so.  I think he is just exploiting the fear and anger that’s already out there.

Let me tell you what I think of fear and anger.  As a Christian I can’t afford fear and anger.  The Bible has some stuff to say about fear and anger.  The Bible says in numerous places that we are not to be afraid.  2 Timothy 1:7 say that God has not given us the spirit of fear.

The Bible also has a lot to say about anger.  Take James for instance.  You remember James.  ‘Faith without works is dead.’  Right or wrong I get this picture of James sitting at a table writing away with a stern look on his face.  Yet it’s James who says ‘The wrath of man does not produce the righteousness of God’ (James 1:20).

Remember the fruit of the spirit (Galatians 5:22-23).  I am convinced that fear and anger spoils the fruit of the spirit in our lives.  You know what spoiled fruit is like.  It looks bad.  It smells bad.  It hastes bad.  And nobody wants it.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Quotations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spoiled Fruit

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    Honey, I’m with you on this one…and most!

    The Good Wife

  2. Neeks says:

    Wonderful post Mr. Lewis, well said.

Leave a Reply

