The First Time

Did you ever wish that you could see a movie again like it was the first time?  How would you like to find out with Luke who his father was?  Again.  For the first time.

Or to see Indiana Jones shoot the swordsman.  For the first time.

For me it would be ET.  There are many scenes I would like to see again for the first time.  ET points heavenward and says ‘Hooomme’.  The blockaded kids on bikes take to the air.  ET points to Elliot’s chest and says, “I’ll be right here”.  But my favorite scene, the scene I would most like to see again for the first time, is the one about the flower.

ET has died and I’m pretty ticked at Steven Spielberg because he has killed off this ugly little creature I have come to love.  And we are only two thirds through the movie.  Elliot is going in to say goodbye and as he enters the room he glances at the potted flower ET has sort of adopted, the flower now brown and shriveled and lifeless.

He says his sad and tearful goodbyes and turns to leave.  As he’s leaving the room he notices the flower.  His eyes get as big as silver dollars because the flower is coming back to life.  And Elliot knows what that means.

ET is alive.

Many of us have heard all our lives that Jesus died on the cross and rose again on the third day.  We learned this so long ago we can’t remember hearing it for the first time.  What was it like?  To hear it for the first time.

Mary enters the room.  Disciples are standing in groups of two or three talking quietly.  Peter has his back to the door.  Mary walks over and places a hand on his shoulder.  She turns him around and, with eyes as big as silver dollars, she says…

“He’s alive.”

Peter looks confused.  He opens his mouth to speak.  She interrupts.

“I’ve seen Him.  I’ve talked to Him.  He’s alive.  Jesus is alive.”

A light comes into Peter’s eyes as he comprehends what Mary is telling him.  He understands now.  And he is not thinking about the shame of his denial.  He is only thinking that the one he thought, he believed was the Messiah, the one he saw die on the cross, is alive.  His teacher, his rabbi, his healer, provider, his peace, his joy, his friend is alive.

Jesus is alive.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

