Close to You

I have this playlist that has a lot of those sad songs of lost love.  It has other stuff too.  I keep adding to it and not deleting so it has become at least in part not what I intended.  The common theme I set out for has become diluted.

The original theme was not sad songs about lost love because that is not what my life is all about.  I started with Stardust but that is not the theme that is in my heart.  My focus is … love.  So my playlist has lots of songs about love.  Here is a rundown:

It Had to Be You.

My Girl

I’ve Got You Under My Skin

The Way You Look Tonight

You Make Me Feel So Young

I’ve Got A Crush On You

All those describe how I feel about my wife and how blessed I am to have her in my life.

But there is one song that stands out from the others.  It’s the very epitome of a sappy silly love song.  It is so over the top that it seems almost a parody of sappy silly love songs.  But it’s not a parody of sappy silly love songs to me.  It’s how I felt forty-three years ago when love snuck up and caught me by surprise.  And it’s the way I still feel today.

So here it is.  From 1970.  The Carpenters singing Close to you.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Close to You

  1. Classics. Nothing better or more real.

  2. Sharon Lewis says:

    I am so blessed that you love your crazy wife.
    The Good Wife

Leave a Reply

