Precious Words

Let’s say you knew that at some point in time there would be no more Bibles.  I’m not trying to concoct some conspiracy scenario here.  I haven’t heard anything.  This is more what you would call a thought experiment.

You know it’s coming.  You know how long you’ve got to prepare.  At some point, three months, six months, a year from now there will be no printed or written Bibles.  Nothing on line.  The only scripture you will have is what’s in your head.

What would you do?  What would you do for those three or six or twelve months?  You would dig into scripture.  You would commit to memory large passages of scripture.  You would drill them so deep in your memory that you would never forget them. They would always be there, ready to give comfort and instruction.

But here’s the question.  What would you focus on?  What would you see as so vital that it must not be forgotten?  John 3:16?  Of course.  The 23rd Psalm?  The Sermon on the Mount?  Sure but those are given.  So familiar they don’t even need to be considered.  What about beyond those?  In the vast sea of words in the Bible which are the most important to you?

I think I would look at Jesus’ ministry to His disciples on the night before His Crucifixion, generally John 13 – 17.

I would look at the book of Romans, especially chapters 8 and 12.  ‘I am persuaded that neither life nor death neither angels nor demons…  can separate me…’

There are passages in Hebrews that are vital.  ‘Let us approach boldly so that we can find mercy and grace to help…

It’s important to me to remember who I am, who we are in Christ.  ‘If any man be in Christ he is a new creature…’   ‘We are a royal priesthood, a holy nation… The people of God.’

And lest I get too full of myself (a distinct possibility) I want to remember that ‘it’s no longer I that live but Christ that lives is me’ that matters.  That’s Galatians 2:20.

And above all else I want to remember Galatians 5:22-25.

22But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.25Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.

That is what my life is supposed to look like.  I must not forget that.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Precious Words

  1. How do you take any One part from the whole and still have the Message? If you pick and choose, you only have a selective perspective, a selective Point of View.

    How do we choose? No one part is the Message. It is only taken as a whole that we see the Beginning, the Middle, and the End.

    Actually, now that I think about it, it is only as a whole that we can truly see the Alpha and the Omega. The bookends of Eternity.

    Keep writing. You make me think.

Leave a Reply

