Electric Dreams

Okay so I’m sure this will upset some people but here I go anyway.  What to call it?  Climate change, global warming, the evils of fossil fuels.  This gets people on both sides all riled up.  Let me say at the beginning that I don’t think we are all going to die.  It’s not over till God says it’s over.

However.  I would be disappointed if thirty, forty, fifty years from now we have not weaned ourselves away from pumping energy out of the ground.  (Not that I will be here to worry about it.)  I just think that in the long run the world will be a better place with an alternative source of energy.

The problem is how to get there.  I don’t think anybody is using the right marketing strategy right now.  They need Don Draper to step in and get things on the right track.

The message right now seems to be ‘We are all going to die’.  Now here’s what happens when people hear that.  Twenty percent take it to heart and try to do the right thing as they understand it.  Forty percent refuse to believe a word of it and run headlong in the opposite direction.  When you tell the last forty percent they are going to die their response is the same as when you tell them anything else, like ‘it’s going to rain’ or ‘the sun is out’ or ‘it’s six o’clock’.  They say ‘Let’s party’.

So what do we do given that the present strategy is not working?  We make environmental responsibility sexy.  We make electric cars that look and sound sexy.  They use digital sounds to simulate the sound of powerful engines right now.  You can make electric cars sound any way you want.  I want mine to sound like a Saturn V rocket leaving the launch pad.

Make electric cars that go from zero to sixty in three seconds, that burn rubber in every gear.  Name them after dangerous animals.  Instead of painting flames down the sides paint radical looking lightning bolts.  Set up a racing series.  Instead of the Piston Cup call it the Commutator Trophy.  Make electric cars that are fun, radical, dangerous.  Something a real man would want to be seen in.

Oh yes.  One more thing.  If you could make them where you could pull stumps with it.  That would be great.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

