The Super Bowl – What Else?

I was there at the beginning.  The broadcast opens inside a control room.  Somebody says, “Roll tape.”  The lights come up.  The music swells (not Hank Williams, Jr.)  And they play a football game.  Dandy Don calls Howard Cosell names.  Howard Cosell calls Dandy Don names you have to look up in a dictionary.  Frank Gifford tries to talk about the game.  Little did we know that it was just the beginning, the beginning of something that would lead to Katy Perry riding in on a giant robotic tiger.

I have a dream.  It’s the Sunday of Super Bowl Fifty (Not Super Bowl L).  If you want to watch sports in the afternoon you can watch golf or bowling or gymnastics.  Thirty minutes before kickoff they come on the air and talk about the teams, the coaches, the players.  Then they play a football game.

Alas, I fear my nightmare will come true instead.

People are filing into the stadium.  There is a red carpet.  Somebody sticks a microphone into somebody’s face and says…

“Who are you wearing?”

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Super Bowl – What Else?

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    No, Honey, That’s my dream
    The Good Wife.

  2. We are not looking forward to Super Bowl coming here. Makes the town totally nuts.

Leave a Reply

