Frozen?

There’s nothing wrong with the Disney movie Frozen.  Really.  Nothing.  I’m not kidding.  It’s a good entertaining movie.  Rent it.  Buy it.  Watch it.  Watch it again and again.  I saw it.  Once.  Once was enough for me.  But if you want to watch it many many times that’s okay with me.  Nothing wrong with that.  Really.  No kidding.  Really.

I probably wouldn’t have gotten into this Frozen post (It’s not a rant.  Really.) if I hadn’t started  thinking about Jacque and Gus.  You remember.  The two mice from Cinderella.

Here’s the thing about Jacque and Gus.  They have personalities.  There are real people.  Well, okay, real mice but you get the idea.  The characters in Frozen are stereotypes.  The strong, self reliant girl.  (Nothing wrong with that. Really.)  The big, handsome, muscle bound, dumb guy.  (I might have a problem with that.)  They seem like, well, cartoon characters.  No depth.  No texture.

Thinking about Jacque and Gus led me to another Disney movie: Lady and the Tramp.  Now there’s a movie.  There are lots of characters.  All those dogs.  Remember the bloodhound, Trusty the terrier, the Siamese cats.  And Peg, the Tramp’s old flame.

Remember the dinner date?

When I Googled Lady and the Tramp I saw an article about what Lady and the Tramp did in the park that night.  Now there’s a romance killer for you.  If that’s what pops into your mind when you think of Lady and the Tramp then, well, you’ve got a problem.  Another article said the movie was really about class warfare.  No no no no.  It’s not about class warfare.

It’s a Nora Ephron movie.  It’s Sleepless in Seattle.  It’s When Harry Met Sally.  It’s boy gets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl back. It’s a simple little story about two people (well, dogs if you want to get technical) falling in love.

They just don’t make movies like that anymore, do they?  I remember in the old days…

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Movies, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Frozen?

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    You’re right. They don’t make good movies like that anymore.

  2. Mindy Tucker says:

    I would love to see a Disney cartoon written about a normal, or rather, not so normal family life…with crazy uncles, aunt, cousins..RELATABLE, that still has a happy ending…or continuation of life in its craziness….THAT would make an epic disney movie….really.

  3. Chris says:

    I contend that human characters tend to be boring in cartoons. Are the humans in Lady in the Tramp that interesting? Nope. They are not the main focus and are so are basically flat. In Frozen, Olaf is a pretty good character with some nice old school voice work. The moose, which is basically the same character as the horse from Tangled, is still more interesting than some of the humans. Interesting that you mentioned the mice in Cinderella. Is Cinderella (the character) that interesting, really? The mice are a lot more fun. Frozen just has too many humans. :). Even the original teaser trailer for Frozen didn’t feature the human characters at all. So maybe the problem is that Disney cartoon humans are not cartoony enough. 🙂

    • Angus Lewis says:

      You are right. For the most part the human characters are pretty one dimensional. Maybe they think fairy tale characters are too iconic to mess with.
      I don’t really have a problem with Frozen. They didn’t make for me anyway. I started out thinking about Gus and Jacque. But anything as popular as Frozen (Can you say ubiqitous? I can’t.) makes an easy target.

  4. Chris says:

    And by the way, you are both too young to say things like “they don’t make good movies like that any more.” :).

Leave a Reply

