Archaeology for the Home

My wife works from home.  Her office is in the spare bedroom.  Well technically they  are both spare bedrooms because the children are out on their own so neither of the two other bedrooms are used for bedrooms.  Well the other one could be considered a guestroom I suppose.  But that room is another story.  What I have come to talk to you about today is the…  office.

My wife’s desk is in there with her computer and filing cabinet and big ole printer.  Well two printers.  One black and white for work and one color for personal.

She also has her sewing machine in there with it’s own cabinet.  Well two sewing machines really.

Then there’s the Create A Space, a big table that gets even bigger when you unfold it.  I call it the waste a space.  I guess I just haven’t inhaled enough fabric but I think I’m getting there.

Then there’s a bookcase with fabric in it, an upright cabinet with fabric in it, and various other filing cabinets with, I suppose, fabric in them.

Finally on part of one wall there is my computer desk.

So here I sit blogging away surrounded by…

Fabric.  (The horror, the horror.)

Okay I’m joking.  I really like us being together in one room doing what we are doing.  It feels cozy.  It feels connected.  I don’t know why anybody would want 2500 square feet.  You just gotta clean it.

Which brings me to the real topic of my treatise.  Vacuuming the office.

There are three chairs in the office: a work chair, a sewing chair, and a computer/blogging chair.

There are two open spaces in the office: in front of the closet and the middle of the room.

To vacuum the office requires an intricate ballet of movements.  It requires choreography.  Here’s how it goes.

1.  Move the computer chair in front of the closet.

2.  Vacuum in front of the computer desk.

3.  Move the computer chair back in it’s place.

4.  Move sewing chair in front of the closet.

5.  Vacuum  in front of the sewing machine(s).

6.  Move the sewing chair back in it’s place.

7.  Vacuum in front of the closet.

8.  Move the work chair to the middle of the room.

9.  Vacuum in front of the work desk.

10.  Move the work chair back in it’s place.

11.  Vacuum the middle of the room.

12.  Back out of the room vacuuming as you go.  Watch out for the corner of the Create A Space.

Somewhere in the midst of all that you can take a rod exactly two meters long, put a crystal on top, and wait for the light to hit it just right.  If you do it will show you where to dig (under all that fabric) to find the lost Ark of the Covenant.

It makes as much sense as the movie.  I Love Raiders of the Lost Ark but really?  The power of God resides in a box that you can dig up and possess?  I think not.

My faith is not dependent on some relic, on an object that can rust and decay.  The power of God cannot be dug up or bought or stolen.  All of God’s faith and power resides in flesh and blood, in us.

God’s Holy Spirit lives in us and His presence is not bought or earned.  His presence is a free gift.  Just by believing do we receive, by believing in Jesus Christ.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Archaeology for the Home

  1. Vacuuming sounds like one of those dance steps instructions with footprints on the floor…careful. Easy to get tripped up.
    Nice post

  2. Sharon Lewis says:

    Honey, this cracked me up again and again. Love you,
    The Good Wife.

  3. Gary Childers says:

    Kee hee…the mental pictures this conjures …the horror!

    • Angus Lewis says:

      Indeed the horror. The aroma of fabric. I think it can have an effect on your brain. But then she has her fabric, I have my scraps of lumber and bins of random screws. And sawdust has it’s effects as well.
      Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

