What’s going on?

I’m not (normally) a conspiracy person.  And I’m not a Bible prophecy expert.  I tend to think in terms of ‘how should we then live’ rather than ‘what’s going to happen next’.  But there’s a strange combination of events that has caught my interest.

The Palestinian Authority and Hamas have formed a unity government.  Hamas is on the United States’ list of terrorist organizations.  Their avowed purpose is to wipe out the nation of Israel.  The Palestinian Authority gets 400-500 million in aid from the US.  I only catch bits and pieces of this but what I got was that the Obama administration said they would not provide aid to the new government.  Yet before the ink was dry they reversed themselves.  Then shortly after that (I’m thinking maybe 24 hours) this prisoner exchange happened.  When questioned President Obama wrapped himself in the flag and would not address the legitimate concerns people had, inviting a storm of controversy.  Aid to Hamas fell off the radar.  (Maybe I’m watching too much news).

Now there’s this thing about the Presbyterian Church voting to divest themselves of stock in companies that do business with Israel (that’s a simplification but you get the idea).  The word thrown around the internet is sanctions and it was sanctions that brought apartheid to an end in South Africa.  It was the right thing to do in South Africa but Israel?  Israel is a free and open society.  Their enemies imprison, torture, and execute people for their beliefs.  World opinion seems to be turning against Israel and it’s happened quickly.  I don’t understand why.

Now there’s this thing about ISIS.  They are overrunning Iraq.  The news talks about Baghdad but it seems to me that there is a greater interest in the western border.  Syria.  What will this lead to?  The fall of Iraq?  Of Syria? of Labanon and Jordan?  I can picture Israel with enemies at all their borders: Hamas and north African militants with US aid to the south and west, IRIS with US and Russian arms to the north and east.  I can see Israel pushed into the sea and a massacre of unbelievable proportions.

Or Jesus could come back.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s going on?

  1. Cherry Whittington says:

    Yep, I’m in total agreement with you, looking for Jesus any day

  2. Theresa Trotter says:

    We’ve heard and talked about this time for years, but the picture is getting closer, nearer, and clearer all the time. We are in the last of the last days. It’s all in God’s Word. We don’t side against Israel. They are God’s chosen. I’m looking for Jesus anyday with you Cherry. God’s Word says that it hasn’t even entered in the heart of man what God has prepared for us. It will be so glorious that we don’t even have the ability to image the wonderful thing that God has prepared for His children.

Leave a Reply

