He’s Off the Island

You probably think this is about Survivor but it’s not.

You know how you get really locked in to a certain TV show and you really identify with a certain character and he’s in a lot of trouble and you think  ‘why doesn’t he pray?’  But he never does.  Or his life is a real mess and you start rooting for him to get saved.  But he never does.  And it’s never going to happen.

All of those shows, cop shows, detective shows, terrorist fighters, they all are based on one thought.  The good guy is self reliant.  ‘I am the master of my fate.  I am the captain of my soul’.  Don’t you wish that one of these shows would get to the last episode of the last season and the good guy would say  ‘I am where I am, I am who I am by the grace of God.’

That brings me to my real topic.

LOST (oh no, not again.)

Every once in a while a show comes along that seems kind of metaphysical.  You begin to see a hidden message.  You see allegory and metaphor.  There is gospel there.  Well forget it.  J. J. Abrams is not C. S. Lewis.  They make these shows to get people to watch, not to preach a gospel message.

Nevertheless I started watching LOST and I bit on the whole idea.  I saw allegory.  I saw metaphor.  The show at it’s core was about just one thing.  Good versus evil.  There were only two people on the island that mattered.  Satan is confined to the island and he is embodied in one person.  The other person (was his name Jacob?) is there for one purpose, to keep Satan from escaping the island.  All of those people on the plane were candidates to be the next Jacob, the next guardian.  Satan, even from the island, had some measure of influence in  the wider world.  But that was nothing compared to the terrors that would ensue if he ever escaped the island.  I still wonder if that was where they were heading till they lost their nerve.

Now I’ve finally gotten to where I was heading and now that I’m here what I have to say seems either totally ridiculous or totally terrifying.  But considering what’s going on in the world these days I wonder maybe if back around the turn of the millennium…

Did Satan get off the island?

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He’s Off the Island

  1. Sorry I am just now reading this. Great point. And, you are right, the writers of the show lost their nerve (or, maybe they bought in to the other Great Evil out there—-Political Correctness).

    • Angus Lewis says:

      Thanks for the comment. Good to hear from you. I can understand loosing nerve. I’ve got the beginning of a few drafts that probably won’t ever get published.

Leave a Reply

