The Woman at the Well Part Two

So Jesus talked to this woman at the well about living water.  And He told her about the five husbands and the shacking up with the one who was not her husband.

(Just a side note here.  I don’t get the impression that He got in her face and told her off about her sinful lifestyle.  I get the impression He just told her conversationally.  Because the problem was not the five husbands and the shacking up.  The problem was she didn’t have the living water.)

Anyway after her encounter with Jesus she went back to her village and told people, “I met a man who told me everything I ever did.  Can this be the Christ?”  We read these stories and we can’t help but see them from our perspective.  We’ve seen the Amazing Kreskin.  We remember Carnac the Magnificent.   We would say, “You’ve been reading my e-mail.  You hacked my computer.  You better cut it out.”  We would think this woman was easily impressed.

No I don’t think it was mind tricks that got her excited enough to spread the word.  I think it was more than that.  I think what she was thinking was, “Come see a man who told me everything I ever did, who knows everything I ever did.  But for all that He did not turn His back.  And He did not walk away.”

You know the cartoons in the Family Circus where the kid comes home from a half a block away and has managed to get all messed up?  A dotted line shows all the things he got into on his short trip home.  My life has been like that to some degree.  Hot, cold, lukewarm and back again.  But for all of it Jesus has never turned His back.  And He has never walked away.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

