The Woman at the Well

John Chapter Four.  You know the story.  Jesus and the disciples are going through Samaria and they stop at a well to rest.  Jesus meets a woman and talks to her about the Water that will quench her thirst.  I thought about what kicked the story off.  Why did they stop in the first place?

They stopped to rest, to get some water, maybe something to eat.  They were taking a break.  They stopped at a… truck stop.  So that led to this:

You’re on a trip.  It’s two o’clock in the morning.  You stop at a truck stop.  Not one of those service station/convenience store operations.  No, a real truck stop.  Like a small city.  Hugh eighteen wheelers everywhere.  You feel like you could get run over just getting to a parking place.  You could get run over and nobody would notice.

You let your spouse out at the door and find a place to park.  You go in and go to the restroom.  You come out and go over to the counter and sit down next to a three hundred pound trucker with tattoos and a white jump suit unzipped halfway down his chest.  You strike up a conversation.

Your spouse comes out of the restroom and looks around.  She finds you, edges up to you and whispers in your ear.

“What are you doing?”

“I’m having a conversation.”

She tugs on your sleeve.  “Come on.  Let’s get out of here.”

“In just a minute.”

“No, let’s go now.  What if somebody from Church saw you?”

 

So when was the last time you talked to a complete stranger about living water?  When was the last time I talked to a complete stranger about living water?  I hate it when I do that to myself.  I’m the one who would be in and out and on my way.  It’s my wife I would find in a deep conversation with a complete stranger.  But maybe not a three hundred pound trucker with tattoos and a white jump suit.

 

 

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Woman at the Well

  1. Cherry Whittington says:

    I love the “woman at the well’. Agree, it describes my lil cuz.

Leave a Reply

