Save the World?

Sometimes you read a Bible passage and something stands out, something you haven’t seen before.  That’s how it was with me when I read Luke Chapter 4 a few weeks ago.

5 The devil led him up to a high place and showed him in an instant all the kingdoms of the world. 6 And he said to him, “I will give you all their authority and splendor; it has been given to me, and I can give it to anyone I want to. 7 If you worship me, it will all be yours.”

I live in a Christian world with Christian family and Christian friends and I forget that Satan has a measure of authority.  It’s Satan’s world.  More than once in the New Testament we are told that this world order would grow worse and worse yet we are filled with consternation when it happens.  We long for days past where Christianity was the prevailing religion.  Yet even in those days people who considered themselves devout Christians engaged in acts that were anything but Christian.  You can begin with slavery and go on from there.  All along it has been, and continues to be, Satan’s world.

So here’s a thought that I guess has been growing in me over a number of years.  Here’s a thought for your consideration.

Maybe we are not called to preserve our standard of living.  Maybe we are not called to protect our freedoms or democracy or our country or our way of life.  Maybe we are not called to, dare I say it, restore Christian values and Christian morality.  Because it we do those things we are only trying to fix Satan’s world.  It’s still Satan’s world.

So it comes down to this.  Maybe our mission is not to change the world.  Maybe our mission is to save as many as we can from the world.

 

P.S.  I feel compelled to add something here.  I can see where some would think I am saying that we cease fighting against abortion, cease working through the political process to stave off the changes we see coming about.  I am not saying that.  We all should do what we can do and follow as the Holy Spirit leads us individually.  I suppose I’m talking more about priorities here.  I can’t see anything good coming out of the direction we are heading.  So maybe it’s time to be filling the ark so to speak.  The Bible talks about snatching some from the fire. Well heck, I wound up the same place again, didn’t I?

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Save the World?

  1. Interesting thoughts. Keep them coming.

  2. kylebvick says:

    In light of this thought, I am curious what you think of Matthew 5:13 “You are the salt of the earth, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored? It is no longer good for anything except to be thrown out and trampled under people’s feet.” I think you make an interesting point, but how would you reconcile your point with this passage?

    • Angus Lewis says:

      Thank you for your comment. I had to go back a reread my original post. Sometimes I get to wrassulin’ with something and I throw it out there and later it doesn’t make much sense. maybe that post falls into that category. Maybe I was a little depressed with the stuff I was hearing at the time.

      What did Jesus mean by ‘salt and light’? That might be a worthy topic to kick around. I don’t know that the current rhetoric, at least the rhetoric that gets the most press, is what He had in mind.

      Thanks again for your comment. It made me give post a closer examination.

      • kylebvick says:

        Yeah I definitely see the point you were trying to make and I think it is a good one. But, in Matthew 5 Jesus makes it clear that he intends his followers to be the salt of the earth. This is a clear comparison between his followers and the only known food preservative of his time. To me, it seems clear that Jesus, in some sense, hopes that his followers would be a light and preservative for culture. How Christians are meant to preserve culture, while simultaneously striving to save people from it seems to be a paradox we must hold as Christians.

  3. Angus Lewis says:

    Seems to me that Christianity is facing it’s greatest challenge since maybe the first century. The challenge is to stand against sin and at the same time reach out with the love and grace of God. I think people tend to lean one way or the other: Love and grace or holiness and judgement. I tend toward the love and grace side. But you have to have both. If my god is all grace then he’s not really God.

Leave a Reply

