Intelligence

I was excited to see that Josh Holloway was going to be in a new series last fall.  He played one of my favorite characters in Lost.  But alas his new show, Intelligence, is not measuring up.  It makes you realize what a fine line there is between success and failure in movies and TV shows.  It’s hard for me to put my finger on what’s wrong with Intelligence.  Holloway plays a guy that has had a computer chip planted in his head by the gummit.  He can access information anywhere anytime.  I don’t know what operating system he has but it’s not Windows.  He never sees a message pop that says ‘Your computer is infected.  Click this button to save your system.’  I guess his would say ‘Your chip is at risk and your head could explode at any moment.’

But anyway I’m not sure what’s wrong with the show but there’s something that doesn’t ring true.  Maybe they take themselves too seriously.  Maybe the actors are subtly giving off a ‘This is too far fetched.’ vibe.  We all know what the real problem is.  It’s the writers.  The writers can sink a show or save it.  It’s all about the writers, the poor, overlooked, forgotten, writers.  The overworked, under paid, shoved in a corner writers.

I think I know what could save this show.  A simple thing it is that should be thrown into the mix.  A simple thing.  Nicknames.

I loved the TV series Lost.  Well I will confess that the end didn’t work but overall I thought it was great.  Every week it was ‘Where are they now?  When are they now?  Why did he do that?  Who are those people?’  How did that get there?  But as much as all the mysteries and all the twists and turns I looked forward to Sawyer‘s nicknames.  He had multiple nicknames for everybody.  From the famous to the obscure they just kept coming.  It must have been a riot to write for that show.  At least till the public ruined the fun and started demanding answers.

So I went searching for the nicknames.  I typed ‘Sawyer’s names’  into Google.  I got a bunch of links to the meaning of the name ‘Sawyer’.  But then I found…  Oh my, oh my.  There is a Lostpedia.  And within Lostpedia is a list of Sawyer’s nicknames.  Yes there is.

Multiple names for each character, rarely repeated.  Each name fit the character.  Hurley got it the most.  Sawyer actually called him International House of Pancakes. Charlie he nicknamed Hobbit.  Dominic Monaghan played a Hobbit in Lord of the Rings.

So I think they can save Intelligence if they let Gabriel start using nicknames.  Do it slowly.  Don’t want to be too obvious.  And Gabriel needs to start acting a little more surly.  The truth is I want Sawyer back and nothing else will work for me.  That and Kate.  Yes I would like to have Kate back.  That would be nice.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Movies, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Intelligence

  1. I, too, miss Lost. And Sawyer.

Leave a Reply

