…for Seniors

Sometime around the middle of December I found myself in Barnes and Noble with an hour to kill.  Browsing books and magazines.  One of my favorite things to do.  But today was a little different.  Maybe it was the Starbucks.  Sometimes it gets me a little hyped up and I get sort of an attitude.

So that day in my browsing there were some books and magazines that jumped out at me.  You know the ones.  The title is [Something or Other]  …for Seniors.  You know what I’m talking about.  Like the first page says, “This is a computer”.

Now I’m sixty-eight years old and I know that qualifies me as a senior.  AARP recognizes that.  Social Security and Medicare welcomes me as a senior.  I’m more than happy to accept that.  But get this.  I don’t need no …for seniors book.  I’ve always been one to dig into things and find out how they work, especially computers.  I want to learn, to understand, to gain insight.  I don’t think my mental faculties have deteriorated to the point where I need things explained in the most simple terms.

But wait.  Maybe I need to stop and consider.  I am retired (well, semiretired).  Has that changed me?  Do I still want to learn, to understand, to gain insight?  I play solitaire and work crossword puzzles and I tell myself I’m doing that to keep my mind sharp.  But you know it’s just solitaire and the puzzles are the simple ones.  Maybe I have slowed down.  Maybe I have taken on a for seniors attitude.  Maybe I need a challenge.

Here’s the thing about challenges.  I don’t go for climbing a mountain or lifting weights just for the sake of climbing or lifting.  To be a true challenge there must be a goal and it must be a worth goal.  There has to be a purpose.  Some good should come of it.  Otherwise solitaire or crossword puzzles could do just as well as lifting or climbing.

So here’s the thing.  I may be retired and sixty-eight years old but I’m not going to stop seeking and accepting challenges.  I may be a senior but I’m not done yet.

After previewing this I think it needs a coda.  My rants are really tongue in cheek rants.  I don’t want to offend anybody.  There’s nothing wrong with …for seniors books.  Maybe I need one myself.  I need a book called Humility…

…for Seniors.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to …for Seniors

  1. Cindy tucker says:

    You go Angus! And never quit! Who says a number has to define us any way. If it does someone needed to tell Moses, Joshua and Caleb just to mention a few.

  2. Marketing is trying to figure out how to appeal….maybe they should hire someone over 12 to give them some advice….wait. Forgot we all left because tire of putting up with nonsense…better things to do.

  3. Sharon Lewis says:

    Maybe we can find Humility for Dummies book for you! signed, The Good Wife.

Leave a Reply

