Christmas Movies

A local movie theater showed traditional Christmas movies on four successive Sundays starting on the Sunday after Thanksgiving.  We saw the first one, Elf.  You might not think of that as traditional as in Miracle on Thirty-Fourth Street or one of those but to me it has become a classic.  Equal parts heart and silliness.  A lot of fun.

We didn’t make it to any of the others.  December is too hectic.  I’m really sorry we missed the second one, White Christmas.  One of our favorites.

The third one was the remake of White Christmas, the one with Silvester Stallone and Steven Seagal in the Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye parts.  You know, the one where Swiss terrorists have taken over the lodge.  The ‘Sisters’ number is a hoot.  Stallone and Seagal in drag.  Hilarious.

The third movie was the sequel, White Christmas 2, Snowbound.  The snowstorm at the end of the first movie turns into a blizzard and they are cut off from civilization. They have to burn furniture to keep warm.  Eat soup made from shoe leather.  Not much food value in high heeled pumps.  Famous quote: ‘Sequins!  We can’t eat sequins.’  Bruce Willis finally gets through with supplies and finds that the lodge has been taken over by Swiss terrorists.

Okay, the last two were really Christmas Vacation and It’s A Wonderful Life.  That last one makes me mad.  Not matter how hard I try it always makes me cry.  When they start dumping that money out…  When the bell rings…  I’m tearing up right now.  I wonder if he had to pay taxes on that money.

I have yet to see a remake that would hold a candle to any of those old ones.

So anyway, Merry Christmas to all and it really is a wonderful life, isn’t it?

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

