Razorbacks – The LAST Game

We can be thankful it’s over, right?

I’ve said before that LSU shows up sometimes like they didn’t know there was a game that day and that’s what happened Friday.  You get the feeling we would have been out of it by halftime if they had played up to their capabilities.  But maybe not.  We have played lots of games this year where we were leading till we did a whole series of dumb things and gave the game away just before halftime.   I was holding my breath when it got to the seven minute mark of the second quarter.  But we held it together.  We played a complete game, almost.  58-1/2 minutes before something dumb happened.

Can’t blame the cornerback.  Young, inexperienced, trying to keep them from getting into field goal range.  Reacting to what was supposed to be a running quarterback.  He’ll learn.

Football is about reaction.  X’s and O’s are fine till the ball is snapped.  Then it’s a cool head, instinct, reaction.  That takes practice and game experience.

The loss was not just about that one play.  Our offense got shut down in the fourth quarter.  If we could have controlled the ball a little longer it wouldn’t have come to that play.  If Brandon Allen could look at more than one receiver…  He will next year or I suspect he won’t be the starting quarterback.

I think we have allowed the world to define us by the soul crushing defeats we have suffered.  We have as many stunning victories as we have crushing defeats but we, and the world knows more about the devastating losses.  I think the 1969 Arkansas-Texas game is to blame.  Every time we play Texas one of the Arkansas TV stations replays the game.  Why?  Why not replay a victory?

We’ll be back.  We’ve built a strong nucleus and recruiting is going well.  We’ll be back.

And if not it doesn’t matter.  I’m still a fan.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

