Razorbacks – Game 11

It’s been less than a week but most of the details of last week’s game with Mississippi (that’s fun to type) State has faded from memory.  Two things stand out and I’ll get to them shortly.

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about the 1963 team.  You can read that here.  I stumbled onto an article about that and about the Kennedy assassination.  Kind of jibes with my memory of events.  They sort of got snookered into playing the game while everybody else cancelled.  Had to be a strange atmosphere at the game.  (By the way, the NFL didn’t cancel that Sunday’s games.)

So back to the MSU game.  One thing that sticks out in my mind was the fake punt.  We seem to play good for 1-3/4 quarters (That’s not fun to type.  Less fun to say.)  We have a lead, have the other team in check.  Then something happens.  I was expecting something to happen.  The fake punt completely changed the game.  I’m not blaming Coach Bielema.  He’s trying whatever he can to get a win.

The other thing is Brandon Allen.  He got his truck egged.  That’s inexcusable.  If you do something like that because of a football game you need to stop watching football.  Start watching cooking shows or something.  But here’s the thing.  I think Brandon Allen can be a good quarterback.  He’s got a good arm.  But I think he’s panicked.  He doesn’t look panicked but his actions say panic.  He throws to the first receiver he sees.  He throws high.  He misses wide open receivers.  I hope this season hasn’t ruined him.  I wish him the best.

He’s a sophomore without much college experience.  Little game experience till this year.  Hurt part of the year.  Last year he was backup to Tyler Wilson.  That didn’t amount to much because of the lack of discipline.  They were trying to make football fun again.

Here’s the thing about fun.  Winning is fun.  Losing is not.

Throwing a touchdown pass is fun.  Throwing to the other team is not.

Sacking quarterback is fun.  Getting blocked to the ground not.

You get the idea.

I’ve always tried to position myself so that I could do what I thought was fun because I thought that was what I was good at and that was the best way for me to make a contribution.  I think that has worked for me.  But every job has some stuff that’s not fun.

Being a star, getting recognition is fun.  Learn the fundamentals, practice, practice, practice is not.

As a Christian it’s fun to be in a worship service where the presence of God is real.  Basking in the glow of His love is fun.  Praying and reading the Bible is fun when you feel the reassuring warmth of His presence.

Turning the other cheek is not fun.  Forgiving is not fun.  Praying and read the Bible is not fun when your mind wants to wander, when you want to sleep, when He just doesn’t seem to be there.

Character is trying just as hard when it’s not fun as when it is.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

