Razorbacks – Not as Bad as You Think

Razorbacks week nine (week ten of the season but we had a bye):

Auburn Game.  We want pretty bad to beat Malzahn, don’t we?  Some history there that’s not entirely Gus’ fault.

But we didn’t.  Beat them that is.  35-17.  Sounds bad.  Not as bad as South Carolina or Alabama but pretty bad all the same.

But not as bad as you think.  Not like those two games.  Especially SC.  That was really bad.

Now we’re back to playing the if game.  If we hadn’t onside kicked.  If we hadn’t fumbled the snap.  If we had scored touchdowns in the red zone.  If…  Well, we would have won 42-21 or something like that.

Excuses?  Am I making excuses?  Not me.  I’m looking for rays of hope.  I’m looking for the promise of future greatness.  I think I do see it.

Here’s the thing about excuses.  They aren’t excuses.  They are reasons to hope, to believe in the promise of good things to come.  Now if we don’t begin to see the fulfillment next year and the year after and in years to come then, well, they were just excuses after all, weren’t they?

But I believe we’ll see the promise fulfilled.  What can I say?  I’m an eternal optimist.  I’m a fan.

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

