Next September

Razorbacks Game Seven:

I would like to hit pause here and pick this up again next September but I won’t do that.  I’ll stick it out.  I’m a loyal fan.

The South Carolina game was a disaster.  Injuries piling up.  Season over for senior defensive lineman Robert Thomas.  His college carrier is done.  I hurt for him.  Defensive line was our strength.

Brandon Allen threw an interception on a sideline route for the third game in a row.  Wasn’t a pick six but almost.  Allen’s confidence is shaken.  Not completely healthy.  Can’t practice a full week.

We have become too predictable.  The coaches are running out of options, of plays that have a chance of working.  The word is that we are slow at receiver and in the secondary.  If that’s true then things are not going to get any better this year.  In a bad year you look for improvement. Don’t worry about wins.  Just get better from game to game.  That may not happen this year.

So what do you look for?

I’ve seen promising quarterbacks go through a year like this and never get over it.  I’ve seen teams disintegrate into finger pointing and back biting.  I’ve seen coaches lose the confidence of players and fans.

So what do we look for?  We look for courage, for players that don’t quit, for coaches to keep their heads up.

And that goes for us fans too.  Keep your head up.  It’ll get better.  It may be next year or the next but it will get better.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Next September

  1. Sharon Lewis says:

    There is power in positive thinking!

Leave a Reply

