An Ugly Loss

Razorbacks Game Six:

An ugly ugly loss to Florida.  The games are starting to run together in my mind.  We start well, moving the ball, keeping them bottled up, getting a lead.  Game is under control.  But somewhere near the end of the half it starts to unravel.

I said in the beginning that two or three injuries would devastate us and that’s what has happened.  Brandon Allen shouldn’t be out there.  His shoulder is not fully recovered.  He’s not getting enough practice time.  Gimpy shoulder plus limited practice means timing is off.

At the start of the season it looked like our greatest weakness was going to be the secondary.  Our second greatest was the receivers.  Both are still true.

So here’s how you beat Arkansas.

Stop the run.  Make us pass.  Ailing quarterback plus thin in receivers means we can’t score.  We’ll have spurts but no consistency.

You can run some but the pass will be your friend.  You can keep extra people in to protect the quarterback and still find a wide open receiver for a first down.

So what do you do with a team like this?  You could play games, smoke and mirrors, get cute.  But that’s not what I would do.  I would run the offense I want to run next year and the year after when I have more horses and more experience.  I would play the defense I want for the long term.  I would give the youngsters as much playing time as I could get away with.  With a health Brandon Allen I might win one or two more.  But regardless, more wins or not, we’re gaining experience, forming habits that will lead to championships in the future.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

