Razorbacks Week Three

Or Quarterback?  We don’t need no stinkin’ quarterback.

Another week has past and I’m just barely getting to a post about the Hogs before the next game.  When I started back I really intended to post daily or every other day.  Things get in the way.  On Monday I had to replace a car battery.  It took four hours.  It’s a thirty minute job including travel time.  Can’t explain it.

If you (maybe I should say ‘if I’) want to do a think that is important to me I have to make it a priority.  Other things may have to be set aside.  The more important it is to me the more things will get in the way.  The word is perseverance.

We played Southern Mississippi (that’s a fun word to type) last week, a program that has fallen on hard times.  Should have been an easy one.  Our quarterback got hurt in the first quarter and we had to go with a junior college transfer who had had little practice time.  He couldn’t handle a snap in the shotgun.  They wouldn’t let him pass so the defense stacked up for the run.  Our offense was struggling in the middle quarters.  But our defense took over and dominated.  The sub quarterback can and did pass a little.  Short safe passes.  The result was a 24-3 win.

I liked the Petrino offense, throw the ball around, quick strikes, lots of points.  But I like this team, maybe better.  It’s fun to see a one yard gain turn into a four yard gain.  Offensive fireworks are entertaining but a defensive struggle is exciting as well.  I like the tension of knowing that one mistake can mean the game.  I think the coaching staff is more important when you play the game that way and Bret Bielema has put together a good one.

Today we play Rutgers.  A step up in competition and on the road.  I’ve stopped thinking about the season.  Just take it one game at a time.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

