Syria

I’m not much on conspiracies.  I think most of the time what people see as dark sinister plots are really just a lot of people acting independently in what they consider their own best interests.  But I could be wrong.

There are those who say President Obama will never leave office.  He will come up with a crisis that will justify martial law with him at the helm.  Some say he is equipping Homeland Security to be his version of the Gestapo.  That Christians will very soon be forced to start meeting in secret .  I don’t see any concrete evidence to support any of that.  I know there are lot of upsetting things going on right now but I also know there are those who would play on our fears to get us to listen and watch and read.  Fear is an easy way to gain followers.  So I’m skeptical.  All that stuff could happen, though.  I’m not ruling it out.  (Just to be clear about this even if all the worst happens, God has not given us the spirit of fear.)

It’s not the domestic stuff that’s got me, what should I say, concerned.  It’s this thing about Syria.  It’s seems out of character for President Obama to be using the military option.  He wants to be reasonable, be friends with everybody.  And what do we hope to accomplish with a military adventure?  We hit a few military targets and what’s-his-name over there says ‘Oh sorry about the chemical weapons.  My apologies.  Won’t happen again.’  I doubt it.  I think the more likely result would be a confrontation with Russia in the Mediterranean and a Syrian strike against Israel.

Don’t misunderstand.  What the Syrian leaders did to their people was horrendous.  They should be stopped and they should be punished for war crimes.  And I can clearly see how people think we should step in, should do something.  I can sit here and just about convince myself that we should take action.  But I’m not sure what options we have here, options that would produce a positive result.

I know that President Obama is no friend of Israel and it’s the people of Israel who may suffer the worst from any action we take.  What it boils down to is that I am suspicious of our President’s motives.  I don’t trust him.

I guess I’ll have to talk about Bible prophecy here.  The most common interpretation of end time events has Israel completely surrounded by enemies and totally defenseless.  I can easily see that scenario coming about.  Every time a middle eastern government destabilizes it presents an opportunity for an Islamic militant group to seize power.  The Syrian situation could lead to that.

Pretty dark days, huh?  Well it’s when things are darkest that God shows up.  Maybe that’s because we wait till things are dark to turn to Him.  Now I’m not talking to you or Barack Obama or the president of Syria or anybody else.  Maybe what God wants is not for me to call my congressman or attend a council meeting or, or, write a blog or something.  Maybe he wants me to turn to Him.

 

This is too heavy.  I want to talk about football again.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

