Razorback Victory

It’s football season.  No it’s more than that.  It’s Razorback football season.  So once a week you will have to endure a recap of the past week’s game.  No spiritual application.  I don’t think.  You never know.

On Saturday the Razorbacks beat the University of Louisiana – Lafayette.  They used to be Southwest Louisiana I think.  They were are pretty good team last year.  They almost beat Florida.  They have lots of people back from last year, especially the quarterback, a run/pass threat.  Arkansas has had trouble with dual threat quarterbacks for years.  This was supposed to be a close game, a game we could actually lose.

We won something like 34-14.  They had a couple of long drives early on but then we shut them down for the most part.  They had a little success in the second half but not enough to make a difference.  I hear some bad mouthing of the defense but I thought they looked good.  The thing you want to do is take away your opponent’s favorite thing to do and I think we did that in spades.

The offense was solid.  Ran the ball with authority and consistency.  Threw long. Threw short.  Brandon Allen was cool and in control.

We are not deep.  The secondary will have to get better to even be considered bad.  We will lose some, maybe be embarrassed by some.  But I think we got to see what kind of team we can expect in the future.  And I like it.

Some people were predicting seven or eight wins this year, maybe more.  I have been wondering if we could wind up with another four win season.  But now I can see seven or eight wins.  Maybe we could slip up on one of those ranked teams.  South Carolina never seems to get up for us.  Florida doesn’t have it all together yet.  And Alabama…

If we can get to our forty every time we get the ball and kick them deep.  If we can keep them form running consistently.  Get some pressure on the quarterback…

Where is the BCS championship this year?  Maybe I should start checking out some reservations.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Razorback Victory

  1. No one does football as well as Razorbacks in Little Rock. (What golf course – that’s just interim use…we all know what it’s really for)

Leave a Reply

