Idols

Isaiah 44:14-17 says this:

Well it doesn’t say this exactly.  It’s a paraphrase which is another word for I don’t have to get it right.

You plant a tree.  You water it and fertilize it and care for it till it gets big enough.  Then you cut it down and use most of it to make a fire.  You warm yourself.  You cook a meal over it.  Maybe roast some marshmallows.

Then with what’s left you carve an image and you fall on your face and worship it.  You pray to it and say, “Deliver me, for you are my god.”

Does that make sense?  Of course not.  There is nothing or no one worthy of worship other than God.  And we can’t expect help from a worthless stick of wood.

But we are too intelligent to be worshiping pieces of wood.  We have other idols.  Work, music, movies, golf, the Razorbacks, sports in general.

Pinterst.

Anything that becomes more important to us than God.

That’s what some say, that these are our idols?  But I don’t think so.

If I want to play golf on Sunday morning instead of going to church is it to please…  golf?  Is there a ‘golf’ to be pleased?  No, there is no entity that is golf.  There is nothing or nobody to be pleased.

If I want to play golf on Sunday morning it’s because I want to please… me.  I have an idol and that idol is not work or sports or Pinterst or a piece of wood.  I have become the idol that I worship, that I try to please, that consumes me.

There’s this game site I like visit on the internet, web paint by numbers.  A puzzle grid with rows of numbers across the top and down the side.  You figure which squares to paint based on the numbers and it paints a picture.  I love to work them.  They make me feel good.  (Not the hard ones.  They don’t make me feel good.)  I can spend hours working the puzzles.  Doesn’t do any harm.  But it doesn’t do any good either.

But that’s all right.  I work them anyway.  Because, well, it pleases me.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, High Sounding Garbage, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Idols

  1. Chrystal says:

    Good point!

    (Soooooo Pigs! Razorbacks! Go Hogs!) Sorry, got carried away. 🙂

  2. Sharon says:

    You had me worried there for a minute when you included Pinterest in your list.
    Whew. Not so bad after all. – I love you
    Wifey

Leave a Reply

