About The Drones

I haven’t been blogging.  I haven’t been blogging because the things I’ve been thinking about are hard to write.  I don’t want to.  But here goes anyway.

I read Philip Martin again.  Arkansas Democrat-Gazette columnist.  This time he wrote about the Rand Paul filibuster in Congress.  As I’ve said before I don’t agree with Philip Martin most of the time but this time I’m right in line with him.  The filibuster was about drones that are being used to take out enemy combatants in war zones.  Rand Paul just wanted assurances that drones would not be used against US citizens on US soil.  The administration wouldn’t make that statement.  They finally said they wouldn’t except in the most extreme cases.  This is disconcerting to Mr. Martin and to a lot of liberals who considered themselves solidly in President Obama’s camp.  The Obama administration seems to be taking on an air of, well, arrogance.

I have friends who think President Obama is, if not the antichrist, then at least the forerunner of the antichrist.  They think he is going to find a way to stay in office after this term.  They think he is going to take our guns away from us.  He’s going to all but outlaw Christianity and turn us into a Muslim country.  I don’t know.  I don’t know but there a lot of little things happening that are kind of unnerving.

But here’s the thing.

We don’t need to be afraid.  After all God has not given us the spirit of fear, has He?  He is still on His throne.  He is in control.  Everything will be all right.

They can tax us into poverty but we don’t need to be afraid.  They can take away our guns but we don’t need to fear.  They can  persecute and harass our churches but we don’t have to let fear control us.

Everything will be all right.

They can cause us to have to meet in secret but we don’t have to fear them.  They can make it where you can’t buy or sell without the mark but that really doesn’t matter, does it?

Because God has never let us down.  He has always provided.  We can trust Him.  He is still in control.

We don’t have to fear.

Everything will be all right.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About The Drones

Leave a Reply

