Favorite Christmas Songs

What are your favorite Christmas songs? I know one of my least favorite is It Never Snows in LA by the Osmond Brothers featuring Jimmy Osmond.  I know it may be number one on some people’s list but for me, well, it just does not do it.  (You know there’s a song that says it never rains in Southern California.  Must be a pretty boring place.)

But on to my list (in no particular order):

1)  The Christmas Song.  How can it be anyone other than Nat King Cole?  (Sorry about the commercial.)

2) Sleigh Ride.  I know it’s instrumental and it’s more a winter song than a Christmas song but it puts me in the mood.

Gotta be John Williams and the Boston Pops? Love the trumpet ‘neigh’ at the end.

3) Let It Snow.  Another winter song.  Romantic.  I started dating my wife in the fall of 1971.  Christmas time has always been special to us.

I have chosen a delightful utube of Dean Martin played over a Bambi segment.

4) Moonlight in Vermont.  Another winter song(???)  Amazing imagery.  Anybody heard of Mel Torme?  Rich, smooth voice.  Sadly overlooked.

5) What Child Is This?  The Christ child.  Bout time isn’t it?  I’ll have to say Silent Night dosn’t do it for me anymore.  A little monotonous.  But this one soars.  It worships.  Let’s listen to Charlotte Church.

6)  Do You Hear What I Hear?  For some reason this one really gets to me.  Always has.  It sounds like a children’s Christmas song.  Lambs, a shepherd boy.  ‘Do you know what I know?’  But there’s more to it than that.  “A child shivers in the cold.’  ‘He will bring us goodness and light.’  It says what we all should be thinking about at Christmas.  A beginning.  A beginning of something beyond belief.  The beginning of an outpouring of love and grace from our Heavenly Father that is almost more than we can imagine.  Don’t get me started.

Who else can it be but Andy Williams?

7)  Oh Holy Night.  This is just kind of a shoot from the hip list.  If I made another list tomorrow I might include others.  But for me this one trumps all the others.  Pure worship.

You can find lots of utubes of lots of different people singing this song (including South Park.  Can’t imagine what that is.)  But let’s listen to Susan Boyle because I think she represents the pure, out of the blue, unexpected gift of God that Jesus is.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Music, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Favorite Christmas Songs

  1. Joani says:

    I have to say… I’m a little offended that your favorite rendition of Sleigh Ride isn’t the NLRHS band from 90-92. 🙂

  2. Angus Lewis says:

    You are right. I am ashamed of myself. That band was exceptional. Even better than the 1963 Mabelvale High School band which was a little weak in the clarinet section.
    I remember the North Little Rock band had two standout musicians in the flute and trombone sections.

  3. Just sliding by to wish you lots of smiles and adventures in the new year!
    (And to once again visit some of the great songs here)

Leave a Reply

