The Trouble with the iPod

So we got these iPod thingies a few years ago and we immediately loaded all our music to our libraries.  Now all our CDs are stored away, hard to get to, hard to shuffle through.  Now you understand I drive the old car (I want to make it clear that I don’t begrudge that for a minute.)  I don’t have a USB port or even a jack where I can plug in my iPod.  Since I can’t get to the CDs I drive back and forth to work in silence.  When you do that things can get in your head.  The other day I realized that what was playing in my head was a snippet from Polk Salad Annie.
 

Everybody said it was a shame

Cause her Mamma was working on the chain gang
 

Honest, I don’t know where that came from.

 

Now I’m sorry if I planted something like that in your head.

Let’s see if we can replace it with something else.

Like this:

PS.  Go full screen and turn up the volume.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Humor, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Trouble with the iPod

  1. Polk Salad Annie! Thanks for the memory jolt. (and the video – full volume)
    Dug out a CD player for some Christmas CDs..must have Feliz Navidad, Little St Nick and the classics – just haven’t got those anywhere but on CD…someday I’ll get organize….May warm and joy find your hearth and linger there! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

