Les Miserables Again

I wrote back in March about Les Miserables and I said I would like to read it before I check out.  Well, I’m doing it.  Been at it for about a month.  I was going to time it so I would finish just before the movie came out but that’s not going to happen.  I’m almost half way through.  It’s a big book, 1285 pages in my e-book version.  I guess back when it was first published people expected books of that size.  What’s amazing about it is that it’s not hard to read.  It’s fascinating.  When there are that many pages you get to know the characters intimately.  I read one of Ken Follett‘s door stop books and came away not really feeling like I knew the characters.  Kind of cardboard.  Know what I mean?

I don’t know what I was expecting when I started the book.  Maybe a little dull, dry, dated.  An exercise in discipline to get through it.  None of that.  The book has me in it’s grip.  Victor Hugo wrote one for the ages.  There’s lots of history in it that I may not have a firm grip on.  There are references to historical people and events that go right over my head.  But that’s alright.  It’s about people and people haven’t changed.  Fear, anger, terror, sadness, loss.  Joy.  Love.  It’s all in there.

I am looking forward to the movie.  I’ll make a complete fool of myself and cry like a baby.  But that’s alright too.  We’re trying to go through our Christmas movies.  We watched Miracle on 34th Street and I teared up at the end.  We watched It’s a Wonderful Life and I cried.  Kind of makes you mad, you know?  Watch it every year.  Know what’s coming but it still gets me.  Darn it Jimmy Stewart, you did it to me again.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Movies, Music, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Les Miserables Again

  1. I like Follets books – he does do a great job of creating characters. OK, I’ll break down and read Les Mis now (somewhere there’s time – won’t finish before the movie though)
    Miracle on 34th Street is one of my favorites, but I like White Christmas more than Wonderful life – probably because I watched it growing up with my dad who was WW II veteran and he would tell me stories of those winters during the war /Christmas / soldiers and how they felt /good people caught in the war they never wanted or supported when he was in Germany.
    Good classic stuff showing this season – lots of universal themes and reflections about humanity
    May you have joy and peace this Christmas

  2. Angus Lewis says:

    You have a wonderful Christmas too.

Leave a Reply

