Where is Deep Space?

Some may be wondering what happened to the Deep Space story. Some may be greatly relieved that is not continuing. I am. I think it was one of the reasons I dropped out for a while. The thing was running out of gas. It was getting to the point where it was going to degenerate into bad TV episodes as they searched for a community where they could live out their lives in peace.
I never really had a clear vision of where the story was going. I had no idea of how it would end. It was an interesting exercise though. The story expanded as I wrote. Things happened that I had not foreseen as I wrote the scenes.
I may get back to it. It doesn’t seem right to just leave Sam and Amy stuck out there in space.

I watched a video on iTunes University a while back. It was John Irving talking about how he writes. Fascinating. He has to have the entire story developed in his head before he writes anything. It sounded like he kind of begins at the end. He has to have the exact words for the last paragraph written because that establishes emotional tone for the whole thing. Once the end is written and the story is laid out in detail in his head he can begin to write. Then he only has to worry about the mechanics, the right words, sentence structure, paragraphs. It can take up to seven years for him to write a novel.
That’s not how I have attempted to do it. Maybe I should.

But that’s a novel. It’s not life, is it? We make our plans. We budget. We fill out itineraries. We establish benchmarks for where we will be in five years, in ten years, at retirement. But really we are just living one day at a time. Each day, each step is taken on faith, believing there will be solid ground under our feet.
We listen for a voice. We wait for that gentle nudge. And we follow, never knowing where it will lead or who we will touch. We just know Who is leading. And we know we can trust Him.

That’s what life is, a grand, wonderful adventure.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

