A Cold Sweat

Well, I see that my last post was on September 25th.  That’s was a long time ago.  And I’ll have to say I haven’t missed it.  Every once in a while I would get something in my head that I thought would make a good post but I never felt a great pressure to write and post.  But now I’m feeling the need to write and post.  I don’t know why.  I still don’t think I’ve got anything earth-shakingly profound.  But here I am somehow feeling a nudge.  I would really like to try again for a daily habit even if it’s only a paragraph.

So where have I been?  I’ve been working.  I thought I was retired.  Plenty of time on my hands.  But then I started working two days a week.  That turned into three days a week.  I’m enjoying it but the other two days seem to evaporate.  House and yard.  Grand kids.  Stuff.  That happens.  Unless you make a commitment.

One thing that took up my time was cabinet doors.  I’ve been making new kitchen cabinet doors and drawer fronts.  We were trying to get them done by Thanksgiving but that didn’t happen.  We’re shooting for sometime in January now.  One thing I’ve discovered is that buying a router and table saw and some lumber does not make you a woodworker.  I seem to have a tendency to bite off more than I can chew.  But, hey, you’re not really living unless you get in over your head once in a while.

I’ll tell you something strange.  Every time I would think about starting to post again I would get nervous, almost to the point of hyperventilating.  Cold sweat.  I have discovered a new anxiety disorder.  Blogaphobia.  Something Charley Brown never had to worry about.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Cold Sweat

  1. Naphtali says:

    ok. I am not getting that phobia.

  2. Glad to have you back. You’ve been missed. . .

  3. I liked your comment about not really living unless you get in over your head once in a while. And I definitely understand that phobia of your’s. But, glad you’re back in the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

