I Don’t Know Why…

We know that God has a plan, a plan to get for Himself a people who are set apart for Him alone, set apart in righteousness, a people who will worship Him in heaven.  And we somehow expect there will be more for us to do. We just don’t know what that will be.

That’s all well and good, this thing of a nation, a people, the whole global reach of God’s redemption.  But to me the thing about my redemption is that it seems so…

Personal.

Which brings me to this song:

I don’t know why Jesus loved me
I don’t know why He cared
I don’t know why He sacrificed His life
Oh but I’m glad, so glad He did
 
Where would I be if Jesus didn’t love me
Where would I be if Jesus didn’t care
Where would I be if He hadn’t sacrificed his life
Oh but I’m glad, so glad He did
 
He left His mighty throne in Glory
To bring to us redemption story
Then He died and He rose again just for me
Oh but I’m glad, so glad He did
 
He left His mighty throne in Glory
To bring to us redemption story
Then He died and He rose again just for me
Oh but I’m glad, so glad He did
 
I don’t know why Jesus loved me
I don’t know why He cared
I don’t know why He sacrificed His life
Oh but I’m glad, so glad He did
 
So glad He did
So glad He did

That’s from Andre Crouch.  We’ve been singing some of his stuff on Wednesday nights at Church.  Amazing stuff.  Amazing writer and performer.

Here is a You Tube of this song.  Enjoy it.  Feel free to sing along.

Now there’s this line, ‘Then He died and He rose again just for me’.  We have a tendency to sing that ‘for you and me’.  Indeed when I found the lyrics on line I had to edit it back to ‘just for me’.  I guess it’s because we are so motivated to preach it, to share it, to reach others with the truth of the gospel.  It’s ingrained in us to say ‘just for you and me’.

But sometimes I think it does us good to be reminded that it’s ‘just for me’.  It’s not about a people, a nation, a global reach.  Because in the end the gospel is…

Personal.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Don’t Know Why…

Leave a Reply

