Deep Space – Chapter Five

“Three minutes to launch”.  Amy spoke it into the microphone that was part of the miniature headset she wore.
Sam looked up from his work.  “I don’t think they’re that precise these days”.
Amy glanced sideway at him.  “Well I am.  How are you coming on those controls?”
“No problem.  They’re standardized controls and I’ve been practicing for six months.  Don’t get nervous on me”.  Sam was manipulating a joystick on his console while watching a graphic of their ship on the display in front of him.  A buzzer sounded.  Sam flinched.
“Naaa.  I’m not nervous”.  Amy tapped an icon and a display came up on her screen.  It showed a set of horizontal temperature-like gauges, all green almost all the way across.
“Mission control, our on board environment up to standard.  We are ready to switch to internal.”
Sam chuckled.  “Mission control?”
“Well what am I supposed to call them?”
“Come to think of it I don’t know what they call themselves.  Mission control sounds a little amateur though.”
“Know what Sam?  We are amateurs.”
Sam heaved a sigh.  “Yeah I know.”
Amy turned her attention back to the headset.  “Mission control, We are ready to disconnect.  Disengage gangway on my mark.  Five, four, three…”
“Gangway is disconnected.  Unhooking umbilicals now.  You’re all set to launch.  Just give us a shout when you want us to turn off the tractor field.”
Amy and Sam looked at each other.  They spoke at he same time.  “Are we ready?”
Sam said, “We’re ready”.  He turned and grasped the joystick.  ” Tell’em to turn us loose.”
Amy said hesitantly, “I don’t know.  Should we, you know, pray or something?”
Sam looked at her.  “Pray?  Who to?”
“I don’t know.  I had a great grandmother when I was little who would pray when something bad happened.  She would bow her head and say ‘Oh Jesus Jesus Jesus.”
“I’ve heard of him.  Don’t know anything about him.  Is that what you want to do?  Say Jesus Jesus Jesus?”
“No, I think we just need to talk to him.  Sam we need help.  We need guidance.  We need wisdom.  We can’t do this on our own.  If there’s somebody who can help…”
“You’re right.  Okay you lead out.  Talk to him.”
Amy took Sam’s hand.  They both bowed their heads.
“Jesus we don’t know who you are but we’ve heard about you.  I know my great grandmother loved you and trusted you.  And now we want to put our trust in you too.  We are embarking on what seems a foolish venture full of unknown dangers.  We don’t really know for sure why we are going but we know we must.  There is something compelling us to go.  So now we ask you, Jesus, to lead us, to guide us, to protect us.  We ask for your wisdom.  And as we travel we ask that you would help us to learn about you.  We ask that you reveal yourself to us.  We ask all this in the calm assurance that you are hearing us and that you answer.  Thank you Jesus.”
Amy looked up at Sam.  “Okay.  Grab that joystick. Mission control?  Deactivate the tractor field.”

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Short Story, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deep Space – Chapter Five

  1. Naphtali says:

    haha! funny funny!

Leave a Reply

