The Bible Needs to be Updated

A pause from the Deep Space story (I’m not sure where it’s going anyway.)

The Bible Needs to be Updated

The Bible is a good book.  Lots of good stuff in it.  How we should live and all.  But it needs to be brought up to date.  There’s stuff we’ve found out in the last couple hundred years that should be included in the Bible.

Like evolution.  Where does that fit in the creation story?

And relativity.  Why does the Bible not say anything about that?

And quantum physics?  Seems to me that’s too important to be left out.

And of course there’s the Big Bang.  You got to fit that in somewhere.

One thing I’d like to have cleared up is this stuff about the strange glyphs in South America that can only be seen from 30,000 feet.  Who made them?  Were they visitors from outer space?  We need an explanation.  What about those creatures in the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull?  What’s that?  Only a movie?  Oh yeah.  I guess you’re right.

So anyway the Bible needs to be updated to include all that stuff.  We need to see how it all fits into the Big Picture.  We need explanations.

Still there are some things the Bible tells us that we can find nowhere else.

Like how there is a God and He made us, made us not just muscle and blood and bone but He made us spirit.  Spirit that could commune with Him, spirit to Spirit.

Like how we disobeyed, went our own way and lost that ability to commune with Him.

How we fought to find our way back to Him and found that we could not get there.

How when it became clear that we could not get back to Him, He came to us and made a way for us to find restored communion with Him, spirit to Spirit.

Out of that came a new word, grace.  Science has nothing to say about grace.

So I don’t know, maybe there are things we think we need to know that are not as important as we think.  But there are things we need to Know that can only be found in the Bible.

You know what I think?  I think the Bible is fine the way it is.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bible Needs to be Updated

  1. Wait so are you being sarcastic? But the Bible does need to be up dated and get rid of all the nonsense about genocide, racism, sexism, homophobia and slavery

    • Angus Lewis says:

      I like to call it irony. That sounds a lot better than sarcastic. But yeah I’m afraid you’re right. Sarcastic may be a better fit.
      There’s sure a lot of bad behavior in the Bible but I think editing that stuff out would be something like leaving the bad stuff out of American history books. Like slavery and mistreatment of Native Americans.
      Most of what you would object to in the Bible is what people said and did, not what God said and did. That was true then and it’s true now. People do things in the name of God that God never intended. Some of it is in error and some of it is intentional self interest. But yes, there is some Old Testament stuff I puzzle over.
      For most of my life I have experienced first hand the grace and love of God. For that reason I’ve decided I don’t have to have everything figured out.
      I know I can trust him.
      Thanks for your comment.

  2. Pingback: Gospel Carriers in Rare Form « Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Leave a Reply

