An Easy Yoke, A Light Burden

You never know what’s going to light a spark.  Prayer, worship, a sermon, reading or devotions.  I’m going through Seize the Day–with Dietrick Bonoeffer this year and I find it inspiring and thought provoking.

Anyway I was in Church last night and we were singing a chorus that was not that familiar to me (I don’t remember the song.)   There was one line in it that was something like ‘have His way in me.’  I realized, being unfamiliar with the song, I was singing ‘have His way with me’, a phrase that has a definite negative connotation.  I worked on getting the word right.

But it got me thinking (there’s that spark).  It got me thinking how one word can change a meaning, drastically.  Satan wants to have his way with us, an external force seeking to defeat, depress, to shackle and destroy us.  Jesus instead seeks to have His way in us,  an internal guide to bring us light, to bring us peace, to bring us freedom and joy.  Satan wants to load us with heavy burdens.  Jesus wants to light our way.

We think of Jesus guiding our steps and we think of a voice that says ‘Go this way’ or ‘Do that’ and certainly there are times when that happens.  But just as often I think we are guided by the inner thermostat of the Holy Spirit.  Our bodies have mechanisms that control our temperature, our blood pressure, our digestion and respiration.  In the same way the Holy Spirit provides that inner light that guides our steps.

Think about it.  There are times when things that are perfectly alright make you feel bored, depressed, and sluggardly.  The light has faded.  Time to do something else.  And I don’t mean you have to always be doing something productive and ‘godly’.  Sometimes staring out the window is the right thing to do.  But the point is that we have an inner resource to lead us in the right path.  Maybe that’s what Jesus meant when He said, “My yoke is easy and My burden is light’.

So how about it?  Is Satan having his way with you or is Jesus having His way in you?

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Easy Yoke, A Light Burden

  1. I love how God will so often speak in simple one word phrases and such. He is amazing! Glory to God and Christ who lives IN us!

  2. Pingback: Words Matter « From a Far Country

Leave a Reply

